Tool

Big Data Management : BIM360 & Forge pour la gestion des projets hospitaliers

Jacques Lévy-Bencheton, Mathieu Lalanne

Online conference given by Jacques Lévy-Bencheton (Brunet Saunier Architecture) and Mathieu Lalanne (DB-Lab) as part of the Autodesk University 2020 event.

Presentation of the BSA web platform dedicated to Big Data Management for the management of “Room Data Checker” hospital projects.

Challenge

After having widely deployed BIM for the realization of complex hospital projects, and achieved the objectives of collaboration and coordination around the digital model, the Brunet Saunier Architecture agency, through its Associate Architect and BIM Manager Jacques Lévy-Bencheton has wanted to go further in optimizing its processes and the quality of its projects.
This new step consists of questioning the value of data according to the phases of the project and the expected deliverables, how to optimize its use.
The primary interest is identified from the design phase, hospitals constitute complex buildings and BSA office wishes to guarantee compliance with the requirements of its customers in the planned designs.
In practice, any hospital project begins with the production of numerous requirements directly linked to the quality of healthcare and health services, through programming. From the start of the project, this information is translated into the functional and technical program. The program, provided by the client, details each room as well as their characteristics. These hospitals can contain on average 3,000 rooms with, for each of these rooms, around a hundred parameters. Here then, approximately, 300,000 data to be managed during the phases of programming, design, construction and operation, the origin of which is often an Excel file.
In view of the exponential number of data produced and their evolution during all phases of the project, controlling information becomes a major issue. Ensuring their uniqueness, reliability and traceability is a prerequisite for optimizing processes during the design-build phases and their valuation for the operation of buildings.
The construction of a data management system on the scale of a hospital complex, therefore, represents a real opportunity allowing increased and facilitated collaboration of stakeholders while ensuring the much sought-after traceability of information throughout the entire process. life cycle of structures.
However, there are many issues related to the management of this data, their production process must be facilitated (can they be managed outside the digital model?), Their integrity validated and certified to allow their sharing and reuse by all stakeholders in the field. project, responsibilities being, of course, identified.
The decision to build such a management system was made possible thanks to Brunet Saunier Architecture’s expertise in data typologies and their production process. The agency has designed around one hundred hospitals for more than thirty projects. Once this step was over, the approach adopted to make the project effective was not to design a complete system from the start, but to identify the first expected benefits in order to be able to initiate the process.
After having identified the modes of data production (Excel, Revit) and their hosting (BIM360), the analysis was focused on the data exchanges between the program and project phases with identification of a chain of responsibilities at the level of the actors. stakeholders.
The study of the new Lariboisière hospital in Paris was the opportunity to initiate this process, which is intended to be generalized to all hospital projects of the Brunet Saunier Architecture office.

Goals

The main challenge for the Brunet Saunier Architecture agency is to guarantee the quality of its projects, one aspect of which is compliance, if not exceeding, of the requirements formulated by the client. Automatically controlling the data of the programming stages and studies of the project with direct access to the results is the first way to prove this level of quality and to enhance the design.
The objectives of the Brunet Saunier Architecture agency can be assessed at two levels, internally and externally.
On the one hand, the BSA agency seeks to optimize the production of its data with mass processing of information and to automate the production of design deliverables such as the supply of sheets for each room (6-sided sheets).
On the other hand, it is a question of allowing, to the external partners such as the project owner or the project manager, intervening during the design phase, an easier access to this data while integrating them in a process of reliable validation.
Ultimately, the BSA agency engages in a process of transparency and accountability with controlled management of BIM information in order to increase the excellence of its projects.
Improving processes to achieve the objectives described requires the development of a solution that allows:
• The uniqueness of the data
• Data reliability
• Traceability of modifications
• The commitment of the responsibility of each stakeholder
It is therefore a matter of creating a database specific to the hospital sector and exploiting this data by carrying out functions specific to strengthening the collaboration of actors while allowing the automation of certain tasks.
The solution is deployed for program management and the design phase. The ambition is to ensure, subsequently, the integrity of data during the construction and operation phase of buildings and their equipment in order to facilitate maintenance operations and improve the functioning of health services and care.

Solutions

Brunet Saunier Architecture has been using Autodesk Revit for the production of its digital models, since 2005. The model coordination is carried out on BIM360 Design, BIM360 Docs being the tool for collaboration between all stakeholders, including for the model review.
BIM360 docs is therefore the centralization platform for all project data.
Autodesk has largely anticipated future needs by providing Forge developers, a set of web services accessible through APIs that allow data to be viewed and operated.
DB-Lab, Forge integrator Certified by Autodesk and Service Provider, then offers the design and development of a web platform specific to Brunet Saunier Architecture connected to their BIM360 space.
The Data Management API, a service for accessing data present on the BIM360 platforms, and the BIM360 API for accessing project management data were implemented. These APIs offer to interact with data via requests from a third-party application and offer the opportunity to build your own business platform based on Autodesk BIM360 data servers.

This web platform is a common data environment specific to the management of hospital premises data, equipped with a data dictionary associated with a NoSQL database, capable of ensuring the uniqueness and traceability of the data of each premises during their entire life cycle.
The BSA web platform makes it possible to communicate with the data present in BIM360 Docs and presents a tool, called DataChecker, dedicated to the management of premises data:

• Input data: direct import of rooms from Revit files (IFC, Excel)
• Restructured data: spatial tree, lists of premises, compared zones, compared data, …
• Output data: Excel reports, PDF files, Re-import in Revit
• Templates / Customization of forms

The key points in the development of this data checker were:
• Ensure the traceability of the initial program
• Optimize the updating of parameters
• Manage and transmit access rights to user parameters
• Ensure the traceability of the modification
• Update digital models with the latest database update bidirectionally
• Automate processes
• Ensure the data life cycle at the local level
• Ensure an intuitive visualization of the data of the premises on the basis of the 3D model

The data checker has, in particular, four uses:
• The co-production of data from the local file
• Automatic comparison of project data with program data
• Editing of the deliverable “local file” including the 3D view of the associated room
• Data reporting

Benefits

The Data Checker extends and strengthens the BIM processes already deployed by Brunet Saunier Architecture on hospital projects.
The Brunet Saunier Architecture web platform is an extension and a link to their BIM 360 space. Each worker connects from their Autodesk account, with rights and access specified in BIM360.

The qualitative contributions are:
• Easy access to data: the application allows intuitive visualization of data from each previously referenced room without opening the model
• The traceability of information from each room
• Continuity of the data life cycle ensured by versioning
• Identification of responsibilities
• Guarantee of compliance with program requirements

The targeted quantitative contributions are:
• Monitoring the progress of information production from a dashboard
• Mass modification and validation of data from typical premises
• Automatic integration of information into the digital model
• Automatic editing of deliverables such as local sheets

Time savings dedicated to data management is approximately 30%.

Conclusion

Brunet Saunier Architecture, a pioneer in the deployment of BIM, has been able to gain competitiveness and build large-scale hospitals across Europe.
Aware of the importance of data management and of the technological changes to come, the Brunet Saunier Architecture agency sought a partner capable of supporting its ambitions and carrying out the solutions envisaged. DB-Lab was chosen because of its ability to understand the needs of Brunet Saunier Architecture and to explain the technological conditions for achieving the solution, thanks to its technological expertise but also its in-depth knowledge of the construction sector. construction and BIM processes.
The solution was built in stages with points made every two weeks. The method consisted of identifying the phases of development to allow the agency to run tests and suggest improvements as the platform was built.
This solution is the result of a committed, transparent collaboration that builds lasting trust between the partners.
The construction of a solid web platform dedicated to the data management of BIM projects, in the continuity of Autodesk solutions, allows to consider the future transformations to be operated, to demystify the complexity of hospitals by facilitating the management of information and constructing buildings allowing to meet the sensitive challenges of the health sector.

1
3 BigDataManagement _ Premiere partie
4 BigDataManagement _ Seconde partie

Outil

Big Data Management

Jacques Lévy-Bencheton, Mathieu Lalanne

Conférence en ligne donnée par Jacques Lévy-Bencheton (Brunet Saunier Architecture) et Mathieu Lalanne (DB-Lab) dans le cadre de l’événement Autodesk University 2020.

Big Data Management : BIM360 & Forge pour la gestion des projets hospitaliers présente la plateforme web BSA dédiée au Big Data Management pour la gestion des projets hospitaliers « Room Data Checker ».

Challenge

Après avoir largement déployé le BIM pour la réalisation de projets hospitaliers complexes, et atteint les objectifs de collaboration et de coordination autour de la maquette numérique, l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture, à travers son Architecte-associé et BIM Manager Jacques Lévy-Bencheton a souhaité aller plus loin dans l’optimisation de ses processus et la qualité de ses projets.
Cette nouvelle étape consiste à s’interroger sur la valeur des données selon les phases du projet et les livrables attendus, comment en optimiser l’utilisation.
L’intérêt premier est identifié dès la phase conception, les hôpitaux constituent des bâtiments complexes et l’agence BSA souhaite garantir le respect des exigences de ses clients dans les conceptions projetées.
En pratique, un projet hospitalier commence par la production d’exigences nombreuses directement liées à la qualité des services de soin et de santé, à travers la programmation. Dès le début du projet, ces informations sont traduites dans le programme fonctionnel et technique. Le programme, fourni par le maître d’ouvrage, détaille chaque local ainsi que leurs caractéristiques, ces hôpitaux peuvent contenir en moyenne 3000 locaux avec, pour chacun de ces locaux, une centaine de paramètres. Voilà donc, environ, 300 000 données à gérer durant les phases de programmation, conception, construction et exploitation, dont l’origine est souvent un fichier Excel.
Au vu du nombre exponentiel de données produites et leur évolution durant toutes les phases du projet, la maîtrise des informations devient un enjeu majeur. Assurer leur unicité, leur fiabilité et leur traçabilité est un préalable à l’optimisation des processus durant les phases de conception-construction et leur valorisation pour l’exploitation des bâtiments.
La construction d’un système de gestion des données à l’échelle d’un complexe hospitalier, représente, alors, une réelle opportunité permettant une collaboration accrue et facilitée des intervenants tout en assurant la traçabilité, tant recherchée, des informations tout au long du cycle de vie des ouvrages.
Cependant, les problématiques liées à la gestion de ces données sont plurielles, leur processus de production doit être facilité (peut-on les gérer hors maquette numérique?), leur intégrité validée et certifiée pour permettre leur partage et la réutilisation par tous les intervenants au projet, les responsabilités étant, bien entendu, identifiées.
La décision de construire un tel système de gestion a pu être prise grâce à l’expertise de Brunet Saunier Architecture concernant les typologies de données et leur processus de production, l’agence a conçu une centaine d’hôpitaux pour plus de trente réalisations. Une fois cette étape passée, la démarche adoptée pour rendre le projet effectif a été, non pas de penser un système complet dès le départ, mais d’identifier les premiers bénéfices attendus pour pouvoir initier la démarche.
Après avoir identifié les modes de productions des données (Excel, Revit) et leur hébergement (BIM360), l’analyse a été portée sur les échanges de données entre les phases programme et projet avec identification d’une chaîne de responsabilités au niveau des acteurs intervenants.
L’étude du nouvel hôpital Lariboisière à Paris a été l’occasion d’initier cette démarche qui a vocation à être généralisée à tous les projets hospitaliers de l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture.

Objectifs

Le défi principal pour l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture est de garantir la qualité de ses projets dont l’un des aspects est le respect, quand ce n’est le dépassement, des exigences formulées par le client. Contrôler automatiquement les données des étapes de programmation et des études du projet avec un accès direct aux résultats constitue le premier moyen de prouver ce niveau de qualité et de valoriser la conception.
Les objectifs de l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture peuvent être appréciés à deux niveaux, en interne et en externe.
D’une part, l’agence BSA cherche à optimiser la production de ses données avec un traitement de masse des informations et à automatiser la production de livrables de conception tels que la fourniture des fiches de chaque local (fiches 6 faces).
D’autre part, il s’agit de permettre, aux partenaires extérieurs tels que la maîtrise d’ouvrage ou la maîtrise d’œuvre, intervenant durant la phase de conception, un accès facilité à ces données tout en les intégrant dans un processus de validation fiable.
In fine, l’agence BSA s’engage dans un processus de transparence et de responsabilité avec une gestion maîtrisée des informations du BIM afin d’accroître l’excellence de ses projets.
L’amélioration des processus pour atteindre les objectifs décrits passent par le développement d’une solution permettant:
• L’unicité des données
• La fiabilité des données
• La traçabilité des modifications
• L’engagement de la responsabilité de chaque intervenant
Il s’agit donc de créer une base de données spécifiques au domaine hospitalier et d’exploiter ces données en réalisant des fonctionnalités propres à renforcer la collaboration des acteurs tout en permettant d’automatiser certaines tâches.
La solution est déployée pour la gestion du programme et la phase de conception. L’ambition est d’assurer, par la suite, l’intégrité des données durant la phase de construction et d’exploitation des bâtiments et de leurs équipements afin de faciliter les opérations de maintenance et d’améliorer le fonctionnement des services de santé et de soin.

Solutions

L’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture utilise Autodesk Revit pour la production de ses maquettes numériques, et ce depuis 2005. La coordination de maquette est réalisée sur BIM360 Design, BIM360 Docs étant l’outil pour la collaboration entre tous les intervenants, y compris pour la revue de maquette.
BIM360 docs est donc la plateforme de centralisation de toutes les données du projet.
Autodesk a largement anticipé les besoins futurs en mettant à disposition des développeurs Forge, un jeu de services web accessible via des API qui permettent de visualiser et d’exploiter les données.
DB-Lab, intégrateur Forge Certifié par Autodesk et Service Provider, propose alors la conception et le développement d’une plateforme web spécifique à l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture connectée à leur espace BIM360.
Ont été mises en œuvre, l’API Data Management, service d’accès aux données présentes sur les plateformes BIM360 et l’API BIM360 pour l’accès aux données de gestion de projet. Ces APIs proposent d’interagir avec les données via des requêtes depuis une application tierce et offrent l’opportunité de réaliser sa propre plateforme métier en s’appuyant sur les serveurs de données Autodesk BIM360.

Cette plateforme web est un environnement commun de données spécifiques à la gestion des données des locaux des hôpitaux, dotée d’un dictionnaire de données associé à une base de données NoSQL, propre à assurer l’unicité et la traçabilité des données de chaque local durant tout leur cycle de vie.
La plateforme web BSA permet de communiquer avec les données présentes dans BIM360 Docs et présente un outil, appelé DataChecker, dédié à la gestion des données des locaux:

• Données en entrée : import direct des rooms depuis fichiers Revit (IFC, Excel)
• Données restructurées : arbre spatial, listes de locaux, zones comparées, données comparées, …
• Données en sorties : Rapports Excel, Fiches PDF, Re-import dans Revit
• Templates/Personnalisation des fiches

Les points clefs du développement de ce data checker étaient :
• Assurer la traçabilité du programme initial
• Optimiser la mise à jour des paramètres
• Gérer et transmettre les droits d’accès aux paramètres utilisateur
• Assurer la traçabilité de la modification
• Mettre à jour les modèles numériques avec la dernière mise à jour de la base de données de manière bidirectionnelle
• Automatiser les processus
• Assurer le cycle de vie des données à l’échelle du local
• Assurer une visualisation intuitive des données des locaux sur la base de la maquette 3D

Le data checker comporte, notamment, quatre usages:
• La co-production des données de la fiche local
• La comparaison automatique des données projet aux données programme
• L’édition du livrable “fiche local” comprenant la vue 3D du local associé
• Le reporting des données

Avantages

Le Data Checker vient prolonger et renforcer les processus BIM déjà déployés par Brunet Saunier Architecture sur les projets hospitaliers.
La plateforme web Brunet Saunier Architecture est une extension et un lien à leur espace BIM 360. Chaque intervenant se connecte depuis son compte Autodesk, avec des droits et accès spécifiés préalablement dans BIM360.

Les apports qualitatifs sont :
• L’accès facilité aux données : l’application permet la visualisation intuitive des données de chaque local préalablement référencé sans ouverture de la maquette
• La traçabilité des informations de chaque local
• La continuité du cycle de vie des données assurée par le versioning
• L’identification des responsabilités
• La garantie du respect des exigences du programme

Les apports quantitatifs visés sont :
• Le contrôle de l’avancement de production des informations depuis un tableau de bord
• La modification et la validation en masse de données des locaux types
• L’intégration automatique des informations dans la maquette numérique
• L’édition automatique des livrables tels que les fiches locales

Le gain temps dédié à la gestion des données est d’environ 30 %

Conclusion

L’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture, pionnière dans le déploiement du BIM, a pu gagner en compétitivité et réaliser des hôpitaux d’envergure dans toute l’Europe.
Consciente de l’importance du data management et des mutations technologiques à venir, l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture a recherché un partenaire capable de soutenir ses ambitions et de réaliser les solutions envisagées. DB-Lab a été choisie de par sa capacité à comprendre les besoins de l’agence Brunet Saunier Architecture et d’expliciter les conditions technologiques de réalisation de la solution, et ce grâce à son expertise technologique mais également sa connaissance approfondie du secteur de la construction et des process BIM.
La solution a été construite par étape avec des points réalisés tous les quinze jours. La méthode consistait à identifier les phases de développement pour permettre à l’agence d’opérer des tests et de suggérer des améliorations au fur et à mesure de la réalisation de la plateforme.
Cette solution est le fruit d’une collaboration engagée, transparente, propre à installer une confiance durable entre les partenaires.
La construction d’une plateforme web solide dédiée au data management des projets BIM, dans la continuité des solutions Autodesk, permet d’envisager les futures transformations à opérer, pour démystifier la complexité des hôpitaux en facilitant la gestion des informations et construire des bâtiments permettant de relever les défis sensibles du secteur de la santé.

1
3 BigDataManagement _ Premiere partie
4 BigDataManagement _ Seconde partie